The Arkansas Diamond Primary Book Award

The Arkansas Diamond Primary Book Award


There are many wonderful awards that books can earn, but one that is particulary special is the one that is voted on by the children of each state.  For younger children, Oklahoma has the Sequoyah Book Award, Wyoming has the Buckaroo Book Award, Arizona has the Grand Canyon Reader Award and Arkansas has the Arkansas Diamond Primary Book Award.  (You can find a complete list of the state awards here.)  


Who Votes?

Arkansas students in 4th, 5th, and 6th grade have been casting their vote for the Charlie May Simon Award since 1971.  Younger students in Kindergarten - third grade were able to vote for the first time in 1998 when the Arkansas Diamond Primary Book Award was established.  A reading list is provided by the Arkansas State Library each year, and children must read and/or listen to at least three of the books during the school year before they vote in the spring.  You can see a complete list of all the winners and honor books on our website.  The very first winner?  Roses Are Pink, Your Feet Really Stink by Diane DeGroat.  For more information about the awards, visit the Arkansas State Library website.

Arkansas Diamond Style Virtual Storytimes

Due to the pandemic, voting was delayed for the 2019-2020 books.  (Students will cast their votes beginning September 14 instead.)  Ms. Robin has recorded several Biography Breaks - Arkansas Diamond Style!  You can find them on our Facebook page and YouTube channel.  Many of the Arkansas Diamond Primary Book Award winners or honor books are also part of Ms. Robin's virtual storytimes.  Check them out!  And remember, you can always check out the books and pick them up at our curbside pickup!