Databases

Limit by Subject

ABC Mouse

ABCmouse.com offers the most comprehensive online curriculum for children ages 2-8+, including reading and language arts, math, beginning science, social studies, art, and music. 

When accessing ABCmouse from home via the library website, you will need to create an account.  Your account can be shared by up to three children in a household, each with their own avatar, profile, and progress-tracking on the ABCmouse Step-by-Step Learning Path. 

Visit Website (in-library use) Visit Website

African American Heritage

African American Heritage was created in partnership with leading African American genealogists and recognized leaders in genealogical information to develop a comprehensive mix of resources, records, and tools specifically pertaining to African Americans.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

American Government

 American Government from ABC-CLIO connects contemporary issues with the foundations of government and compares the political and economic systems of the United States with those of other countries.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

American History

The American History database from ABC-CLIO lets student researchers explore the key events, defining moments, and unique individual contributions that have shaped the nation.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

American History Online

By providing the most comprehensive range of information in one complete resource, American History offers a virtual library of American history for educators, students, and researchers of all ages. Includes articles, images, primary source documents, timelines, videos, and slideshows.

Visit Website

American Mosaic: The African American Experience

Providing a comprehensive survey of African American history, The African American Experience from ABC-CLIO shows students the challenges and contributions of African Americans across political, social, artistic, and literary contexts.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

American Mosaic: The American Indian Experience

The American Indian Experience from ABC-CLIO gives students entry into an often neglected side of American history, illuminating both the historical and contemporary practices of more than 150 Native American tribes across North America.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

American Mosaic: The Latino American Experience

The Latino American Experience from ABC-CLIO offers students a deep exploration of this growing national identity that includes Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Dominicans, Columbians, Ecuadorians, and other Latino peoples in the U.S. 

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

Ancestry (Library Edition)

Covers more than two billion names throughout the various databases collection. This database offers access to Ancestry.com. It is available in the library only, and customers are limited to six emailed documents per email address.

By vendor contract rules, this website is accessible from FSPL’s four locations ONLY (NOT from home).

Visit Website

Arkansas Driving Tests

Practice permit tests and handbooks for cars, motorcycles, and CDL.  Also available in Spanish.

Visit Website

Arkansas State Library - Arkansas Government Documents

Search for Arkansas Government Documents. The State Documents Depository at the Arkansas State Library permanently retains all materials in both the Arkansas Documents and Arkansas Rules collections.

Visit Website

Arkansas State Library - Arkansas Government Documents Digital Collection

Access digital copies of Arkansas documents, Arkansas proclamations and executive orders, Arkansas rules and regulations, legislative audit reports, Medicaid rules and regulations, Acts of Arkansas, and Arkansas Game and Fish Commission Research.

Visit Website

Arkansas State Library - Federal Government Documents

Find federal documents through the Arkansas State Library. 

Visit Website

Chronicling America

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress. 

Visit Website

CultureGrams

Primary sources, statistics, and cultural reports covering the countries of the world, states, and Canadian provinces.  Explore the United States and discover state flags, maps, sports teams, recipes, symbols, songs, and more. 

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture

Comprehensive reference work promoting the study, understanding, and appreciation of Arkansas’s heritage.

Visit Website

Fort Smith City Birth Records

This index is the official “Record of Report of Births Filed With the City Clerk of Fort Smith Arkansas.”  Births were first recorded with the City of Fort Smith in 1881, and continued to be recorded at the city level until 1965. Many local births were never recorded with the city. The period currently covered by this index is 1881-1921.

Visit Website

Fort Smith City Death Records

This index is the official “Record of Report of Deaths Filed With the City Clerk of Fort Smith Arkansas.” Deaths were first recorded with the City of Fort Smith in 1881, and continued to be recorded at the city level until 1965. Many local deaths were never recorded with the city. These records are in the process of being indexed, and will be updated periodically. The period currently covered by this index is 1881-1924.

Visit Website

Fort Smith Digitized Newspapers

We are now digitizing the microfilmed versions of our Fort Smith newspapers. We currently have newspapers from 1848 to June 30, 1938. More dates will be added to our collection as we continue the digitization project.

Visit Website

Fort Smith Public Library Cemetery Index

This index includes individuals buried in Fort Smith, Arkansas. The information was taken from interment records from the 
following cemeteries: Calvary (Catholic)–to 1991; Forest Park–1910-1988; Rose Lawn & Holy Cross–1930-1991; U.S. National Cemetery–to 1990; Washington Cemetery–1943-1996; Woodlawn Memorial Park–1959-1989.

Visit Website

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.  Your library card is required to access this database.

Visit Website

Health and Wellness Issues

Health and Wellness Issues by ABC-CLIO enables students to better understand the health and wellness issues affecting them, their peers, and our greater society through a multitude of authoritative reference entries and expert perspective essays.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

HeritageQuest Online

Search census data, family records, local histories, and other artifacts to help you find out more about your family’s past.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

Hoopla

Hoopla is a digital media service that allows you to borrow movies, music, audiobooks, ebooks, comics and TV shows to enjoy on your computer, tablet, or phone – and even your TV! With no waiting, titles can be streamed immediately, or downloaded to phones or tablets for offline enjoyment later. We have hundreds of thousands of titles to choose from, with more being added daily. Hoopla is like having your public library at your fingertips. Anytime. Anywhere.

Visit Website

Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society

News sound bites and traditional databases often merely scratch the surface of the most important issues. From ABC-CLIO, Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society helps students develop an in-depth understanding of how society shapes and is shaped by controversy.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

Kanopy

Kanopy is a popular, on-demand streaming service that offers more than 30,000 of the world’s best films, including award-winning documentaries, rare and hard-to-find titles, film festival favorites, indie and classic films.

Visit Website

LearningExpress

LearningExpress is an interactive online learning platform for job searching, workplace skills improvement, career certification and licensing exam preparation. It also covers college entrance and graduate school admissions exam preparation, GED exam preparation, and basic skills improvement for all ages. 

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

Library2Go

Download e-books, audiobooks, and videos with your library card.

Visit Website

Mango Languages

Learn more than 70 languages through real conversations, and also features ESL lessons. Great for kids.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

MedlinePlus

The National Library of Medicine's site for consumer-health information. Find information on common diseases and conditions, dictionaries, and directories for finding health-care professionals.

Visit Website

Newspapers.com World Collection (Library Edition)

Historical newspapers archive from the 1700s - 2000s containing thousands of well-known regional, state, and small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.

 

Visit Website (in-library use) Visit Website

NoveList

Find reviews for fiction books along with author read-a-likes, what we're reading, book discussion guides, annotated book lists, and more.

 

 

Visit Website

NoveList K-8

NoveList K-8 Plus is a trusted source of read-alike recommendations specifically for younger readers. It helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests.

Visit Website

Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas

Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas from ABC-CLIO is an irresistible yet authoritative online resource that looks at American history through a unique lens, examining the values, accomplishments, and cultural development of the U.S. from the Age of Innocence in the 1900s to the social media revolution of the 21st century.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

ProQuest ABI/INFORM

Provides access to ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business, and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

ProQuest Accounting, Tax & Banking

Offers access to wide range of information in accounting, tax & business.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

ProQuest Arts & Humanities

Those studying the arts, film, and music will build a deep understanding of their area of interest through additional scholarly content including eBooks, historical newspapers, and journals. 

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

ProQuest Business Market Research

ProQuest Business Market Research provides both with an extraordinary collection of business information and inventive discovery applications.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

ProQuest Career & Technical

A definitive source for vocational information, supporting career researchers with exceptional collections in most areas of practice. 

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

ProQuest Central

An easy-to-use multimedia resource that supports research in business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and dozens of other disciplines.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

ProQuest Health & Medicine

The Health & Medical Collection is a comprehensive medical information resource providing full-text journal content, reference eBooks, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

ProQuest Research Companion

This database helps students understand the scholarly research process and supports educators as they teach the core information literacy principles of finding, evaluating, and using information.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

ProQuest Science & Technology

This resource provides access to wide range of information for both applied and general sciences.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

ProQuest Social Sciences

ProQuest’s collections provide comprehensive coverage of the scholarly literature in the social sciences, including full-text scholarly journals.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

Salem Press Online Collection

Salem Presses offers a wealth of information on literature, history, science, health, and more. Researchers have access to a collection of reference materials, eBooks, and more. This resource also has biographical information and primary documents. Outside the library, use fortsmith as the remote password.

Visit Website

Science Online

With a wealth of content and a dynamic design that facilitates STEM research and learning, Science Online offers a comprehensive overview of a broad range of scientific disciplines. 

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

Sebastian County Marriage Records

This index includes individuals married in Sebastian County (Fort Smith and Greenwood) from years 1847, 1861, 1863-June 14, 2001.  Source Information provided by the Sebastian County Clerk’s marriage records. These records will be updated periodically.

Visit Website

SIRS Issues Researcher

Background and analysis on 350+ leading issues, providing pros and cons on social, scientific, health, historic, economic, political, and global issues.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

Today's Science

Today’s Science bridges the gap between the science taught in class and real-world discoveries—giving in-depth explanations of important advances in biology, chemistry, the environment, space, physics, and technology.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

United States Geography

United States Geography provides award-winning information in an engaging, visual format that helps students gain a deeper understanding of the places and people that make up the United States. 

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

University of Arkansas-Fort Smith Boreham Library Catalog 

Explore the dynamic catalog of the Boreham Library at the University of Arkansas - Fort Smith campus.

Visit Website

World Book

This resource is your entry way to the vast World Book resources.  Search encyclopedias, multimedia, eBooks, and primary source databases, in a single search.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

World Book Discover

World Book Discover assists differentiated learners and older adults with a research database that offers a practical life skills section. A collection of unique videos, featuring expert answers to often asked questions, and a visual dictionary make content more accessible for readers of all levels.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

World Book Early World of Learning

Emergent learners will engage in an interactive and playful environment that encourages reading comprehension and mastery of phonetic skills. Early World of Learning is full of stories, videos, songs, and games to provide a firm foundation for 21st-century learning and digital citizenship.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

World Book Kids

Search thousands of articles, multimedia content, and a collection of biographies.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

World Book Spanish - Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

Spanish language encyclopedia for Spanish speakers and Spanish language learners. Includes maps, images, and activities. 

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

World Book Student

Find thousands of articles and multimedia aligned to curriculum. Contains numerous tools to engage users in 21st-century education and blended-learning practices.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

World Book Timelines

World Book Timelines allows you to discover and map important events with accurate information.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

World Geography: Understanding a Changing World

World Geography: Understanding a Changing World offers students the ability to research by region, category, and country and make demographic comparisons among each.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras

World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras from ABC-CLIO explores the early cultures, powerful dynasties, and the development of societies across the world, giving students a historical road map of the events and innovations that shaped civilization itself.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

World History: The Modern Era

From ABC-CLIO, World History: The Modern Era is a database of historical reference materials and interactive curricular units. It includes tools for enhancing lectures, creating research lists, developing student activities and addressing different learning styles.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.”

Visit Website

WorldCat

WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information.

Visit Website