On the Edge of Our Shelves

On the Edge of Our Shelves

Spring is coming in hot and bringing some hot new releases.   Check out our most anticipated new releases hitting the YA section.

Back at it after her mega-hit The Hate U Give, Angie Thomas released On the Come Up in February, and we couldn’t wait to get our hands (and eyes) on it.

Sixteen-year-old Bri wants to be one of the greatest rappers of all time. It’s hard to get your come up, though, when you’re labeled “trouble” at school and your fridge at home is empty after your mom loses her job. But Bri’s success is all that stands between her family and homelessness, so she doesn’t just want to make it - she has to. Even if that means becoming exactly what the public expects her to be.

While you read (or wait to check it out), add the music Angie Thomas said inspired the novel to your Spotify playlist:

  1. “The Message” by Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five

  2. “Juicy” and “Sky’s the Limit” by Biggie Smalls

Missing media.


Speaking of follow up novels, the highly anticipated sequel to Dhonielle Clayton’s The Belles is hitting the shelves in March!

With a price on her head, the evil Queen Sophia out for blood, and no idea who to trust, Camellia Beaureguard, the former favorite Belle, must race against time to find the ailing Princess Charlotte, who has disappeared without a trace. Sophia's imperial forces will stop at nothing to keep Camille, her sister Edel, and her loyal guard, Rémy, from returning Charlotte to the palace and her rightful place as queen. But enemies lurk in the most unexpected places, forcing Camille to decide just how much she's willing to sacrifice to save her people.

The Belles and The Everlasting Rose are empowering and exciting reads to celebrate Women’s History Month this March and are perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld’s Uglies series!

Missing media.


Last on our list The Universal Laws of Marco by Carmen Rodrigues.

Told through the lens of a guy in love with the cosmos (and maybe two girls), The Universal Laws of Marco explores the complicated histories that bring us together and tear us apart.

In the summer before eighth grade, Marco Suarez kissed his best friend Sally Blake. This was his first spark. And then, at the end of that year, she disappeared.  She never even said why.

Now in their senior year, Sally unexpectedly returns and Marco is shaken. Still, he holds tightly to his carefully choreographed life. A life that is full of reasons why first sparks don't matter:

Reason 1: He has a girlfriend. Her name is Erika Richards.

Reason 2: He's leaving on a full scholarship to college.

Reason 3: He's busy with his friends and making money to help support his family.

But as Marco navigates the final days of high school, he learns that leaving home is never easy and a first spark is hard to ignore.

Marco’s story is perfect for fans of Adam Silvera, Jenny Han, and The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness.

Kitty cat Whatcha Reading meme


These books have us on the edge of our shelves (*wink*).

What books are you most looking forward to? Let us know in the comments!